• MaxFindsCars
  • Posts
  • šŸŽļø I Bought a Barn Find Vintage Porsche - Max's 1982 Porsche 911 SC

šŸŽļø I Bought a Barn Find Vintage Porsche - Max's 1982 Porsche 911 SC

And it was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

Get smarter in 5 min by checking out Morning Brew here!

Good day, dear readers!

Today I have an exciting one for you. Itā€™s a little change of pace, and something I have been alluding to for a long timeā€¦

Itā€™s the story of how I found & bought my vintage Porsche 911.

Itā€™s also the first in a series Iā€™ll be doing on my cars, covering how I buy them, everything thatā€™s wrong with them (spoiler: I donā€™t have the cash to buy museum examples, so I usually end up having to fix a LOT), and everything I do to get them in working, daily-driving order.

You can expect the ā€œMaxā€™s Carsā€ series to come outā€¦ very randomly. Though, if you really like this type of content, let me know & Iā€™ll do everything I can to keep these coming as regularly as possible.

Soā€¦

HERE WE GO.

šŸ˜± Max Bought a Vintage Porsche 911ā€¦

The first picture I ever received of what would become my first Porsche

Todayā€™s Edition is brought to you by Morning Brew

But First, the Highlightsā€¦

  • šŸŒļø Driven around the world: 147,000* - Iā€™ll explain the asterisk later, I promise

  • šŸŽ¼ Song to Get the Vibes Right: Canā€™t You Hear Me Knockinā€™ - The Rolling Stones

    • My personal favorite ā€˜starting a fun driveā€™ song.

  • šŸ‡ Can beat ~300 horses in a fight

  • šŸ’°ļø Predicted Price: $??,???

The year was 2021.

I was still living in South Carolina, had no garage, and had recently realized there were some seriously concerning issues with the E39 BMW M5 I owned at the time (timing chain guides were deteriorating, for those who know about these cars).

Luckily, I was working remotely & my wife (girlfriend at the time) had her olā€™ reliable (ish) Chevy Cruze. Soā€¦ I didnā€™t really need a working car.

Unluckily, the repairs on the docket were going to cost upwards of $5000. This was a hard hit - I didnā€™t know how to do the fixes myself (spoiler: I am not a professional mechanic), I didnā€™t know any shops in town had experience with this fix. I didnā€™t know what I was going to do.

Me, circa 2021

Then, a couple things happened around the same timeā€¦

First: my former boss & current friend/mentor (we will call him Clyde, his name isnā€™t Clyde, but its late on Sunday evening rn so Iā€™m not going to text him to ask for permission to use his name) let me know he was moving. Why was this important? Wellā€¦ the new house was bigger, but it had less garage space.

Clyde and I are both car guys. I knew he had a couple fun cars. Both were Porsche 911ā€™s, one vintage & the other that he drove more frequently was a Baltic Blue Porsche 996.

We had talked about them numerous timesā€¦ and by talked about them, I mainly mean I was pestering him with questions and drooling over the prospect of owning not one but TWO 911ā€™s.

Anyways, the less garage space meant he had decided to sell one of his cars & it was the vintage, ā€˜G-bodyā€™ 911 he had owned for more than 15 years.

Specifically, it was a 1982 Porsche 911 Super Carrera (SC), in Guards Red, black interior, RS-inspired duck tail spoiler, a set of front brakes from a Porsche Boxster for improved stopping power, and MOST IMPORTANTLYā€¦ it had an engine swap.

Post-barn removal and professional detailing, but before I had purchased

The previous owner had, using a kit from Patrick Motorsports, removed the stock engine (which made about 180hp) & replaced it with an air-cooled flat-6 engine out of a 1993 Porsche 911 Carrera that, after a few modifications, was making around 290hp.

Nowā€¦ that doesnā€™t sound too crazy by itself. But this car weighs 2500 pounds.

It has the same power-to-weight ratio as a MODERN DAY Porsche 911 GTS.

I was flabbergasted. Blown away. I knew I wanted the car already.

BUTā€¦ if you noticed that first picture in this email, you may have come to the conclusion that this car was not being driving very often. It was mostly just sitting in his barn for at least a few years, collecting dust.

Clyde was very straight with me about this. He paid to get the car professionally detailed, inspected, and made sure the car was in solid driving order. But, he told me, it wasnā€™t perfect. 

The paint wasnā€™t original and had a ton of imperfections, the electrical system was a bit wonky following the engine swap and years of these cars selling for less than $20k (and being treated as such). It didnā€™t have air conditioning, relevant heat, a working odometer, or a rev limiter, and with the modified lightweight flywheel the car revs so fast it would be really easy to cause damage.

circa 2021. Side view is my favorite on this car.

Iā€™ll cover everything that was (and still is wrong) with the car in a future episode, but for now letā€™s affectionately call it a ā€˜drivers carā€™.

WTF is a driverā€™s car? Basically, a fun project car thatā€™s beat up (or worn down) just enough that you donā€™t have to worry about taking it for drives.

So Clyde tellā€™s me everything about the car, refers me to his mechanic so I can ask them whatever I want, and offers to let me take the car for a test drive.

I say hell yes, obviously.

And so, on a rainy day in late August, 2021ā€¦ I fell in love.

Not with Clyde (though he is great), but with that vintage 911. If you want to know why I fell in love, read the section ā€˜How it Feelsā€™ in my previous newsletter.

I realized during that test drive that this 911 could be mineā€¦

If I was stupid/ballsy enough to buy another old car while my existing one was sitting broken in my driveway.

If I was enough of an idiot to buy a second car when I worked remotely, and legitimately never had to drive anywhere.

If I was willing to ignore everyoneā€™s advice & all conventional wisdom.

And if I had so few brain cells that I thought the best way to realize my dream of owning a Porsche 911 wasā€¦ not by buying a cheaper, more modern, base 911ā€¦ but by buying an unused, heavily modified, 40-year old 911.

In my defenseā€¦ this was the car that was in front of me. And was beautiful. And it was being sold by someone I trusted.

Silly nonetheless.

What REALLY tipped the scales was the other thing that was happening at the same time I was learning more about this carā€¦

I have a good friend, a former coworker at BMW, and one of the only people in the world I can confidently say is more car obsessed than me. His name is Kyle.

Kyle has a habit of buying neglected BMWā€™s and bringing them back to life. He does all the work himself, and is like me in that he has trouble saying no when a car is for sale in close proximity to him.

I told him the problems I was having with the M5. I offered to buy all the parts heā€™d need to fix the timing chain guides. He offered to buy the M5 from me.

So effectively, I could just trade my broken M5 for a working 911.

Seemed like a no-brainer, right?!

Then, Clyde told me the price. And, before I say it, keep in mind this was peak Covid used car prices. Porscheā€™s especially were going crazy. Other comparable 911ā€™s (without any modifications) were going for $35,000. The 964 generation Porscheā€™s (the generation of 911 that the engine came out of) were selling in the 6 figures, REGULARLY.

via BringATrailer. The peak sales are really skewing this, but most of these cars are around 100.

So, with all that said, the asking price was $40k.

When I heard that my first thoughts were (in no particular order):

  • I can buy my dream car for the same price as a new, fully-loaded Honda Accord.

  • With the engine swap, Iā€™m basically getting the cheapest Porsche 964 in the country, it just happens to not be a 964.

  • Why am I so freaked out?

And on that last pointā€¦ I still donā€™t really know the answer. If I had to guess, I think it was because it felt like I was skipping a few steps.

Regardless of the money, did I even deserve this car yet? Iā€™ve spoken with so many people that have said things like ā€˜man, I always wanted to own a Porscheā€™ when I know they could have. Why didnā€™t they? What was I missing?

I spent a couple days thinking about this & decided a few things:

  1. It doesnā€™t matter if other people do or donā€™t buy the cars they say they want.

  2. The only way to find out if it was a stupid decision was to make the decision and see what happened.

  3. I would DEFINITELY regret passing this opportunity up.

I was 26 at the time. I had the money for the car, didnā€™t need to drive frequently (so if it was unreliable, it was no biggy), I had no kids and my wife had a reliable, modern car we could do longer road-trips in.

So, I got a small loan from Lightstream (because my credit union thought I was an idiot and wouldnā€™t finance it (which I honestly completely understand)) and I told Clyde I would buy it.

He gave me the keys and on my drive home I took the picture below to capture the moment.

Itā€™s not a great picture, but it was in a moment where I was incredibly happy. I was proud of myself for being brave enough to pull the trigger, excited I was driving my dream car, and overall in disbelief that the whole deal came together over only a few days.

I did not realize that, in less than 24 hours, I would be stuck on the side of the road with a broken new-to-me 911, getting towedā€¦

But that is a story for another time.

In my last two years of ownership, Iā€™ve done a TON of work on the car. Maintaining, modifying, & improving the car as much as I can.

It is still my only car. It still leaks a lot of oil. And it the electrical system is still a mess.

But I love it, and Iā€™m very happy I pulled the trigger on buying my dream car.

I think that whole experience is a big reason why I wanted to start MaxFindsCars.comā€¦

To put interesting cars in front of as many people as I can, educate about the process of buying vintage/enthusiast cars online, and share my passion with the community that has given so much to me over the years.

P.S. Do you guys like this, more story-driven, style of content? Does it come across well in the newsletter? Let me know in the poll below!

IF YOUā€™RE FUNNY, MEAN, OR NICE ENOUGH, YOUR REVIEW MIGHT GET FEATURED IN A FUTURE NEWSLETTERā€¦

That's a wrap for today. New Editions come out every Monday & Friday! While you wait, go out and drive! And if you want more, be sure to follow Maxā€™s Twitter (@maxjzin)