• MaxFindsCars
  • Posts
  • 🏎️ Max Gives A State of The Union...

🏎️ Max Gives A State of The Union...

What does the future hold for MaxFindsCars??

presented with…

Get smarter in 5 minutes with Morning Brew (it’s free)! Click the logo to subscribe to Max’s second favorite newsletter!

Good MORNING people,

It is Monday, and I think its about time we do a little State of the Union.

(Friday we will cover that wood-paneled Buick, I swear)

What is covered in a newsletter’s State of the Union? Great question!

Basically, I’ve had a few people ask what the future holds for MaxFindsCars.com - what is the master plan… so to speak? And, in the meantime, how am I working to grow this burgeoning newsletter in its current form? How are we iterating, what is happening behind the scenes?

All great questions, all of which I will cover as concisely as possible herein. And… yes, I’ll pepper in some cool car pics to keep you all on notice in the meantime.

Today’s Edition is brought to you by Morning Brew

What does the future hold for MaxFindsCars?

Well, first, let’s talk about why I started this newsletter in the first place.

I have been car obsessed for as long as I can remember. Of my handful of hobbies, the two that take up the most of my time are 1) working to restore my vintage 911, and 2) scouring the internet for the interesting cars I would like to learn more about and (maybe) own some day.

The newsletter is my attempt to share those hobbies and passions with anyone who will read them (thank you all for that, by the way).

But the goal of MaxFindsCars has always really been threefold:

  • To show everyone that every car is cool, unique, and has its own story.

  • To find and learn about the ones we find most interesting.

  • To begin building a community of like-minded car nuts, so we can solve more problems in the car world.

And that last one is the crux of this section…

We are building the community. But, what problems do we want to solve to make the industry we love an even better place?

THAT question comes back to that poll I had a couple newsletters back.

That wasn’t just a hypothetical, that was our first pass at determining what our second product in the automotive realm is going to be.

I’m not ready to show or announce exactly what its going to look like yet, but it is going to be a really novel and useful product for people like you, and dealerships as well.

If you’re really eager to find out more, I have a way you can guarantee your spot amongst the first users.

I created a new referral tier here. All you need to do is refer one friend and you are guaranteed a spot amongst the first users (as long as you’re one of the first 100 people to refer someone).

SO. All this to say, we have exciting things coming for our little community. I don’t know when I’ll be ready to show this thang off, but I’ll share updates as I have them!

But in the meantime…

Give us a peak behind the curtain, how are you growing MaxFindsCars.com?

In short? Ads & word of mouth.

The latter is my preference, hence the referral programs, as you all are probably able to reach out to your friend that drives a weird Saab (or something) better than I could via ad keyword targeting…

But that said, I’ve been having a blast figuring out advertising to grow MaxFindsCars. The guys in Mad Men were on to something, ads are fun af.

I’d been testing a ton of different landing pages and ad copy up until the end of July. I’m still iterating, but I feel like I have a good idea of what is working. I have gotten our subscriber acquisition cost down to a third of what it was when I first started testing. But…

What we don’t have is organic traffic. So, during the beginning of this month I paused our ads and started working on a couple new features to the website in an effort to get better at SEO (search engine optimization).

Granted, there’s still a lot of work to do here. Our SEO is not (yet) great. But, it was a big step in the right direction. As this continues to improve, we should start to see more people end up on the site and part of our community organically, which will be awesome.

Now that those features are done, I’m going to kick off this fall (yes, its nearly fall) with some new ads, more budget, THE SAME INTENSITY, and… as long as you all keep loving these posts as much as I love writing them… we are gonna grow this sucker.

Thanks for being a part of the ride so far! & keep your eyes peeled Friday morning for the next edition.

And remember…

MaxFindsCars.com is not, technically, free! By subscribing, dear reader, you have agreed to tell your friends about it.

In fact, I believe the contract specifically stated you had to each subscribe 100 of your closest friends, colleagues, enemies, exes, priests, pets, & sugar mommas. I’ll have to check the fine print to be sure, but you all may as well get started spreading the word in the meantime.

That's a wrap for today. New Editions come out every Monday & Friday! While you wait, go out and drive! And if you want more, be sure to follow Max’s Twitter (@maxjzin)